Negannnnnn

In all the shows I’ve watched in my life, I have never encountered a villain like Negan in “The Walking Dead.” Do not get me wrong, I completely hate the person he is. He is disrespectful to women, a psychopath, and also completely full of himself. Oh and he also killed my two of my favorite characters in the show… Still salty.

Yet, behind all that hatred, I also kinda, sorta, maybe love the character of Negan. Now, a lot of that has to do with Jeffrey Dean Morgan’s awesome performance every second of the show. The man knows how to act and act well. But I love how Negan has an admiration for courage and braveness, even if it comes in the form of defying him. Typically, there is a price to be paid because of that but it comes at someone else’s expense. While that is not okay, it still is interesting how he values those who are willing to stand up to him (Daryl and Carl). 

I also love how Negan has the best one-liners. “Holy crap! You are creepy as shit. Sneaking up on me wearing that collar with that freaky ass smile.” I have never laughed harder from something in the show.

Lastly, up until this point, he basically has been shown as being a more effective and efficient leader than Rick, even if it comes at the wrong price. All of his people respect and fear him because he holds such a high value on rules. There is a consequence if someone does something wrong and he holds true on those consequences. That is extremely intimidating.

It will be interesting to see how his character evolves over this season and, most likely, the next season too.

Leave a Reply

